Postcard Computer Virus A number of email messages are circulating, claiming to be from postcards.org carrying a message from "a family member". These appear to be sent to addresses that commonly receive spam, indicating that perhaps the senders are using spam lists. It looks nice and friendly, but don´t click on it. A new computer virus is disguised as an email from a family member. The email claims that you have a virtual postcard waiting for you. Subject: You have received a greeting from a family member You have received a postcard from a family member! You can pick up your postcard at the following web address: http://www2.postcards.org/?a91-valets-cloud-31337 If you click on the web address above, actually access another hidden website at http://62.75.220.135 /~michael/postcards.gif.exe which is a trojan. (Your postcard will be available for 60 days.) Oh -- and if you would like to reply with a postcard,you can do so by visiting this web address: www2.postcards.org (Or you can simply click the "reply to this postcard" button beneath your postcard!) We hope you enjoy your postcard, and if you do, please take a moment to send a few yourself! Regards, 1001 Postcards --- The mail uses a trick similar to many phishing emails, in that the displayed link of website: 62.75.220.135 / ~michael / postcards.gif.exe is actually is disguised link to another server or PC, possibly belonging to an innocent third party. In this case the IP address of the server is 62.75.220.135 with nslookup it showed that it is actually toronto143.server4you.de. and uninteresting located in Germany.
|